Contact Us 

e-toll registration starts on 7 November 2011

issued by
7 November 2011

The South African National Roads Agency SOC Limited (SANRAL) has announced that e-toll Account registration, and the distribution of e-tags will start today Monday, 7 November 2011 for Phase-1 of the Gauteng Freeway Improvement Project (GFIP).

SANRAL wishes to encourage all  Gauteng e-road users to become e-toll ready, the most cost effective way, by  getting an e-tag, registering an e-toll Account and fitting their e-tag to the inside of their windscreen.

e-tags are available from the participating retailers: Checkers, Pick’n Pay and Shoprite.

e-tags are also available from  e-toll Customer Service Outlets located at malls in Gauteng or Customer Centres along the Gauteng e-road, by ordering them online at www.sanral.co.za or through the e-toll Call Centre at 0800 SANRAL (726 725). Bakwena e-tag holders can use their existing e-tags.

e-toll Registration can be done online at www.sanral.co.za, by phoning the e-toll Call Centre at 0800 SANRAL (726 725), at the e-toll Customer Service Outlet located at malls in Gauteng or Customer Centres along the Gauteng e-road and  by printing a Registration Form from the e-toll website and faxing it to 0800 SANRAL (726 725) or e-mailing it to info@sa-etoll.co.za.   Bakwena e-tag holders can only register their e-toll Account online at www.sanral.co.za. Self help terminals are available at the e-toll Customer Service Outlets.

An initial deposit of R50 per vehicle registration is payable (if the road user has not made the initial payment at the participating retailer already). The deposit and/or payment made at a participating retail outlet will be credited to the e-road user’s e-toll Account, upon registration.

Gauteng e-road users have the option to register a Pre-Paid Account or a Credit Card Settlement Account. With a Pre-paid account the road user has the option to have the e-toll Account automatically topped-up from a nominated bank account, once a minimum amount has been reached, or they can top it up at a participating retailer (from a date that will be announced in the media) or via the e-toll Customer Service Outlet or with an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).

Gauteng e-road users who select a Credit Card Settlement Account can pay their tolls by linking the e-toll Account to a credit card. Transactions are rolled up daily and one amount is deducted from the pre-registered credit card.

Of note is that the e-toll System was designed and implemented to conform to the internationally recognised Payment Card Industry Security Standard (PCI). PCI is a set of requirements designed to ensure that companies that process, store or transmit credit card information maintain a secure environment. Other System data, including passage data, gantry images and contact details are secured in a similar way according to international best practice.

Special arrangements have been put in place for obtaining the e-tags and registering an e-toll Account for fleets and groups of 50 or more. Details are available from the e-toll website.

All e-toll Account holders can manage their e-toll Account online through the e-toll website, where they will be able to view and print all transactions. 

For road users that choose not to have an e-tag, they can pay their toll by registering their Vehicle Licence Plate Number or by buying a Day Pass.

Cabinet earlier announced that qualifying commuter buses and taxis will be exempted from tolls on those routes for which they are registered to operate on.    Application for this exemption is not open yet; however operators that choose to register an e-toll account now may still do so.

Additionally, Gauteng e-toll tags will only be operational at the Bakwena Toll Plazas from toll commencement (February 2012) on the Gauteng e-road.


e-toll Customer Service Outlet locations:

Customer Centre’s located along the Gauteng e-road, near these interchanges
Rigel Avenue – Exit 136
Modderfontein – Exit 119B
Grey Avenue – Exit 101
Rivonia Road – Exit 100

Permanent Outlets located at these malls
Jakaranda Shopping Centre
Cedar Square
Mopanya Mall
Westgate Shopping Centre
Benmore Gardens
Bonaero Park

Malls for the initial registration phase only:
Village Mall
Attebury Value Mart
Quagga Centre
Wonderpark Shopping Centre
Northpark Mall
Moreleta Park
Sunny Park
Boulders Shopping Centre
Mall @ Reds
Carlton Centre
Rosettenville Junxion
Vaal Mall
Brightwater Commons
Morning Glen
Sunninghill Village Mall
Killarney Mall
Northmead Mall
Meadowdale Mall
Sunward Park

Mobile Outlets:
Please keep an eye out for the Mobile e-toll Customer Service Outlets, that provide the full customer service, e-tag and registration services.

Issued by: The South African National Roads Agency SOC Limited
Contact: Priya Pillay  - Corporate Communications Manager
T: +27 12 844 8046
M: +27 83 283 6152
E: pillayp@nra.co.za


  Home   |   Site Map   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Privacy Policy